2014 Welsh League events ...

Round 1 Calf-burner 'Cross
... more info >>

Round 2 Amman Valley 'Cross
... more info >>

Round 3 Foxley 'Cross
... more info >>

Round 4 Showground 'Cross
... more info >>

Round 5 Beacons 'Cross
... more info >>

Round 6 Melin Mynach 'Cross
... more info >>

Round 7 Hafren CC 'Cross
... more info >>

Round 8 'Cross by the Sea
... more info >>

Round 9 Gilwern 'Cross
... more info >>

Final Christmas 'Cross
... more info >>

Welsh Cycling logo British Cycling logo
2010 Welsh League Overall Standings

Sadly the concluding round of the Welsh Cyclo-Cross League was a victim of the wintry weather, denying riders a final showdown at Blackweir Park in Cardiff. Overall League Standings would be taken from the “Best of 6” results after the penultimate round. There may have been some personal scores to settle but, with the exception of the U10 Boys, U8 Girls and Women, the podium places were cut and dried.

Despite this, competition has been close all season long and no more so than in the U10 Boys category; only one point separated first-placed Owain Roberts (Towy Riders) and Welsh Champion Huw Higgins-Worrall (Abergavenny RC), giving them a well-deserved 2010 ‘cross title each, and Mitchell Cole held off his Abergavenny RC team-mates to take third. Newcomer Eluned King gradually found the winning way and took the U10 Girls title, with a very determined Josh Tarling (both Towy Riders) getting the better of Aled Trott (Abergavenny RC) in the U8 Boys. U8 Girls Anna Doheny and Evelyn Higgins-Worrall (both Abergavenny RC) tied on points but Anna had three wins to Evelyn’s one.

The U12s also kept spectators entertained and guessing all season with Jessica Roberts (Towy Riders) making her trademark early break, only to be reeled in by Nathan Ford, Megan James or one of the Tillett brothers. Ford and Roberts vied all season for top spot on the points table; when the best 6 results were totalled it was Ford who was finally at the top, with Roberts retaining her U12 Girls League title.

U16 Boy Adam King (Cardiff JIF) dominated the Youth category all season; Towy Rider Scott Davies valiantly tried to stay with him but King just stepped up a gear and was gone. Things were a lot closer in the U14 Boys with Alister Williams (Abergavenny RC) taking four wins to three against Nicholas Jones (Towy Riders) on their seven encounters and adding the League title to his Welsh Championship one. Emily Haycox (Maindy Flyers) continued to successfully mix ‘cross and track to retain her U14 Girls League title.

For Cwmcarn Paragon’s Andrew Baum there was no repeat of the bad luck that put him out of contention the previous year and he comfortably regained the Overall League and Senior titles, although second-placed Joe Lally (CC Abergavenny) had his best season to date and was the stronger at Pembrey. Mark James (MI Racing) and evergreen Graham Edwards (Abergavenny RC) were convincing winners in the Vet 40+ and Vet 50+ categories respectively and League stalwart and ever-smiling Carol Miller took the Women’s title by one point. A closely fought season for Juniors Matthew Thompson (Cardiff JIF) and Luke Cornish (Cwmcarn Paragon) ended with Thompson as League winner.

Thanks go to ALL who supported the Welsh ‘Cross League in 2010 and helped to make it yet another successful season – rider numbers have increased yet again!

U8 Girls
1 Anna Dohenny (Abergavenny RC) 30pts
2 Evelyn Higgins-Worrall (Abergavenny RC) 30pts
U8 Boys
1 Josh Tarling (Towy Riders) 110pts
2 Aled Trott (Abergavenny RC) 105 pts
3 Ashley Cole (Abergavenny RC) 62pts
U10 Girls
1 Eluned King (Towy Riders) 76pts
2 Isabelle Bennett (Cardiff JIF) 71pts
U10 Boys
1 Owain Roberts (Towy Riders) 149pts
2 Huw Higgins-Worrall (Abergavenny RC) 148pts
3 Mitchell Cole (Abergavenny RC) 137pts
U12 Girls
1 Jessica Roberts (Towy Riders) 145pts
2 Megan James (Abergavenny RC) 139pts
3 Elizabeth Bennett (Cardiff JIF) 112pts
U12 Boys
1 Nathan Ford (Abergavenny RC) 147pts
2 James Tillett (Newport Velo) 141pts
3 Sam Tillett (Newport Velo) 134pts
U14 Girls
1 Emily Haycox (Maindy Flyers) 186pts
2 Tanwen Jones (Towy Riders) 161pts
U14 Boys
1 Alister Williams (Abergavenny RC) 246pts
2 Nicholas Jones (Towy Riders) 239pts
3 Tiefion Best (Abergavenny RC) 228pts
U16 Boys
1 Adam King (Cardiff JIF) 270pts
2 Scott Davies (Towy Riders) 264pts
3 Ben Dunster (Brecon Wheelers) 251pts
1 Matthew Thompson (Cardiff JIF) 410pts
2 Luke Cornish (Cwmcarn Paragon) 403pts
1 Carol Miller 203pts
2 Claire Bowen (Abergavenny RC) 202pts
3 Manon Morgans (Cardiff Ajax) 184pts
1 Andrew Baum (Cwmcarn Paragon) 450pts
2 Joe Lally (CC Abergavenny) 444pts
3 Mark Davies (Cardiff JIF) 423pts
Vet 40s
1 Mark James (MI Racing) 417pts
2 Ross Porter (Cwmcarn Paragon) 403pts
3 Jeff Thomas (Abergavenny RC) 356pts
Vet 50s
1 Graham Edwards (Abergavenny RC) 401pts
2 Donald Gray (Cardiff JIF) 372pts
3 Paul Bennett (Cardiff JIF) 367pts
Best Newcomer
Michael Tarling (Towy Riders)
Most Improved Rider
Thomas Chaplin (Abergavenny RC)
League Loyalty Award
Gareth Chislett (CC Blaenau Gwent)